The Struggle for Vietnamese in Biloxi-Language Access Project-staying connected at the grassroots


Where the rubber hits the Road… Fundraising week 1
September 25, 2006, 4:21 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

It has been a crazy week of trying to get myself organized on what I thought would be a small project, but I’m grateful that I can do something to contribute to the empowerment of marginalized communities in Biloxi, MS. This week marks the offical first week of completing my first report back to community and connecting with folks where ever I can. I have been lugging around my powerbook and copies of the Executive Report on the Vietnamese community, I assisted with and copies of my ask letter… talk about Biloxi on the Brain. I’ve been fortunate to have afew folks offer to do a small fundraiser here locally and I’ll post those as I get confirmation from individuals.

At my first reportback I was able to raise my first $250 towards the project – how exciting and yet scarey knowing that I have so much farther to go!!!

In my research prior to going to Biloxi I had an opportunity to also talk with other Vietnamese folks in the Bay Area (CA) who had done work on the ground in the Gulf Coast immediately after the hurricane. My commitment in this fundraising effort is to also continue to educate and raise the awareness of the current conditions for marginalized communities in Biloxi. After a day of phoning and emailing folks, I’ve committed myself to head down to the Bay Area this coming weekend to connect with other Vietnamese folks and allies to do a report back and also do an ask for the Language access project. Its all very exciting and I have hope at the thought of reconnecting folks and broadening my own sense of connection to community… stay posted for details people and keep send ideas and donations…

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

